Is Warzone Shutting Down when Warzone 2 Launches?

Will Warzone servers be turned off when Warzone 2 releases? Is Call of Duty: Warzone ending? If you are wondering if Warzone is getting shut down soon, we have the answers you need to cast away the shadow of a doubt. The next Call of Duty battle royale game, Warzone 2, will launch on November 16th, 2022. What does this mean for the original Warzone? Is Warzone coming to an end? Is it entering the maintenance mode? Read on to learn about the future of Warzone and if Warzone servers are shutting down once Warzone 2 launches.

▼Article Continues Below ▼
Will Warzone Shut Down After Warzone 2 Launches
Will Warzone Servers Shut Down?

Will Warzone Shut Down After Warzone 2 Launches?

Update: Warzone servers will be temporarily turned off around the release of Warzone 2.0, at approximately 8 am PT / 11 am ET / 4 pm GMT / 5 pm CEST on November 16th. This will happen once Season 5 ends. Warzone will be offline for approximately 12 days. Following the intermission period, the game will relaunch as Call of Duty: Warzone Caldera. This is expected to occur on November 28th, at around 10 am PT / 1 pm ET / 6 pm GMT / 7 pm CEST.

Are Warzone Servers Shutting Down After Warzone 2 Released?

No, for now, you can breathe a sigh of relief, Activision isn’t planning to shut down Warzone servers. At least, for the time being. While still not confirmed, recent leaks suggest that Warzone 2 is set to launch on November 16th, 2022. It has been confirmed that the sequel is coming this autumn, but an official release date is yet to be announced. However, the fact that the new Warzone is coming this year has many current Warzone players worried. They worry if it means lights out for the current iteration of Warzone. Luckily, that’s not the case.

When they announced Call of Duty: Modern Warfare II in June 2022, Activision also confirmed that “the all-new Call of Duty: Warzone 2.0 comes out later this year”. And that same announcement clarified that “today’s Warzone will continue as a separate experience”. What does this mean, exactly? First and foremost, it means that Warzone servers will keep running and you can continue playing Call of Duty: Warzone just the same as you are playing it now.

What about your inventory, progress, unlocks, cosmetics, and so on? They will continue to exist within the old Warzone, but you will not be able to carry over all that content into Warzone 2. Your Warzone and Warzone 2 progressions will continue as two separate experiences. What about feature updates and content for Warzone? For this, we are not yet sure. Activision hasn’t shared details in this regard. Unfortunately, we have a bleak forecast here. We doubt Activision will put any significant resources into the development of the old Warzone. If you ask us, the current Warzone will enter maintenance mode once Warzone 2 launches. This means that future updates will be far and few between. We will update the article once we have more information.

TAGS ,
Author Chronocrator profile picture
Nikola's been playing video games since his father bought him the NES and the Sega Mega Drive in the early '90s. Later, he became a predominantly PC gamer who enjoys narrative-driven RPGs, real-time strategies, and psychological/survival horror games. Nevertheless, he appreciates any game that's worth his time.With over 12 years of experience in esports & gaming journalism, I like to think that my guides once helped a NASA scientist to beat a game. What I'm trying to say is that I should be credited for NASA's Mars missions. (I'm just kidding, please don't shoot me). In my free time, I dream of the day when I will finally start clearing my Steam backlog.

YOU MAY ALSO READ

CLICK TO POST A COMMENT