Resident Evil 3 Remake Demo & Resistance Open Beta Announced

Capcom have announced a sort of double-event to promote Resident Evil 3 this month. First, on March 19th, they’ll release the Raccoon City demo to give you a taste of the upcoming game, and a few extra surprises in there. Then, on March 27th, they’ll launch the Resident Evil Resistance open demo, so that you can try out the new multiplayer mode they have planned. What better way to weather through COVID-19 than playing through a fictional viral apocalypse?

Resident Evil 3 Remake Demo & Resistance Open Beta Announced
Resident Evil 3 Remake Demo & Resistance Open Beta Announced

So, what can you expect from the RE3 Raccoon City demo? Well, you’ll of course be playing as Jill Valentine, working with Carlos Oliviera and other members of Umbrella’s goons to rescue innocent people from the living corpse of Raccoon City. You’ll can also attempt to find and shoot twenty Mr. Charlie bobbleheads. Knowing Resident Evil, that’ll probably unlock something for the full game. Of course, all manner of monsters will be breathing down your neck, including, of course, our good buddy Nemesis. At least you’ll get a brand new cinematic when you complete the demo.

As for Resident Evil Resistance, it’s an “asymmetrical 4 vs 1 multiplayer experience.” Basically, one player is the Daniel Fabron, one of the four Masterminds. Your job is to run experiments by setting traps and sending monsters on the other players. Meanwhile, the other four people have to escape the experiment within the time limit. Each of the Survivors that you can play as have special abilities to help the group get out. Sounds fun; kinda like a mix of Dead by Daylight and Dungeon Keeper.

The Resident Evil 3 Raccoon City Demo will launch on March 19th at 00:00 ET / 04:00 GMT / 05:00 CET on Xbox One and 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET on PlayStation 4 and PC. As for the RE Resistance open beta, it’ll start on March 27th at 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT / 08:00 CET on Xbox One and PS4, and 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET on Steam. The beta will last until the full game launches on April 3rd.

TAGS
Author JoeTheBard profile picture
A language teacher and video game enthusiast turned rogue, Joe is on a quest to become the ultimate gaming journalist. This is somewhat hampered by his belief that the golden age of gaming ended with the PlayStation One, but he doesn't let that stop him. His favorite games include Soul Reaver and Undertale. Other interests are D'n'D, dad rock, complaining about movies, and being the self-appointed office funny man, which nobody else agrees with.

YOU MAY ALSO READ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *