Sliver of Terror Diablo 3 Soul Shards

Diablo 3 Sliver of Terror Soul Shards are one of seven different Soul Shards that you can get in the game. It’s a relatively new addition, so some players are still struggling with figuring it all out. To compound the problem for the Sliver of Terror specifically, farming for it can only be done in one of the later acts with any degree of efficiency. So, in this guide, we’ll show you where to get Sliver of Terror and how to upgrade Soul Shards in general.

▼Article Continues Below ▼
sliver of terror diablo 3 soul shards
Sliver of Terror Diablo 3 Soul Shards

Where to Get Sliver of Terror in Diablo 3

To get the Sliver of Terror Soul Shard in Diablo 3, you need to farm Act IV bosses. They have a 50% chance of either dropping both the Sliver of Terror and the Remnant of Pain or dropping neither. And that’s about the long and short of it. As we’ve covered in our Diablo 3 Soul Shards guide, farming Act bosses in general is the optimal way to get these items in general. Each Act has its own Soul Shard(s) it spawns, as shown in the list below. Out of all of them, the Sliver of Terror is probably the most versatile one build-wise.

  • Act I – Essence of Anguish
  • Act II – Dregs of Lies
  • Act III – Fragment of Destruction and Stain of Sin (50% chance to drop either both or none)
  • Act IV – Remnant of Pain and Sliver of Terror (50% chance to drop either both or none)
  • Act V – Shard of Hatred

How to Upgrade Diablo 3 Soul Shards

To upgrade Diablo 3 Soul Shards, including the Sliver of Terror, you need to use the Hellforge Embers. This is a new item that can drop from pretty much anywhere, though your mileage may vary based on several factors. For more details on all that, check out our Diablo 3 Hellforge Ember guide.

Each Soul Shard has four ranks, meaning that you can upgrade it three times. At Rank 0, you get a unique power based on the Shard. Rank 1 grants you bonuses to various stats, including Life, Experience, cooldown reduction, extra Gold from monsters, and more. On Rank 2, your Primary Attribute gets a boost in a single stat. Lastly, on Rank 3, you get another unique power corresponding to the shard. What you get on each rank is totally random, unfortunately, and there’s no rerolling. Good luck.

Author JoeTheBard profile picture
A language teacher and video game enthusiast turned rogue, Joe is on a quest to become the ultimate gaming journalist. This is somewhat hampered by his belief that the golden age of gaming ended with the PlayStation One, but he doesn't let that stop him. His favorite games include Soul Reaver and Undertale. Other interests are D'n'D, dad rock, complaining about movies, and being the self-appointed office funny man, which nobody else agrees with.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *