Countdown starts for “They Shall Not Pass” Battlefield 1 DLC, no Gandalf confirmed as of yet

March 14, 2017 will see the release of the first DLC for Battlefield 1. EA Dice went a little close to comfort by dubbing it “They Shall Not Pass”. If you don’t see everyone’s favorite white wizard holding a rifle and charging into machine-gun fire, you are probably not a LotR fan.

▼Article Continues Below ▼
Battlefield 1 Winter Update
“Look to my coming, at first light, on the fifth day.”

The DLC will be released on the said date for Season Pass holders, however, it will be two weeks later that everyone else gets a taste. “They Shall Not Pass” contains a new game mode, two new tanks, and four new maps: Verdun Heights, Fort De Vaux, Soissons, and Rupture. The French army is finally joining the fray. Très bien!

The new mode, Frontlines, is described as a mix of Conquest and Rush. Both teams are supposed to fight for only one flag at once and only when one of them captures it, can they move on. However, if you capture the HQ, the Rush-style section comes in.

The two tanks are Char 2C, a behemoth-class vehicle and the St.Chamond. There is a new field gun that can be operated by any player, the Siege Howitzer, as well as a “Trench Raider” the new melee class, with a “raider club” and an “impressive grenade arsenal”.

There are three more expansions in the plans. The first one to follow “They Shall Not Pass” is “Name of the Tsar” and introduces Russian troops and Hussars. “Turning Tides” will have a naval focus, with a new ship and airship, introducing the famous battle of Gallipoli. “Apocalypse” is supposed to bring “the most infamous battles of WWI”, with “brutal tools and unique weapons born out of desperation and deadlock”. Sounds like fun!

It is to be expected that these expansions will also be available earlier for Season Pass holders. You can read more about them here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.