How to Restart Campaign in Marvel's Avengers

Restarting the Marvel’s Avengers campaign, or starting a new game, is currently a point of contention among the fan base, since people can’t figure out how to do it. There doesn’t seem to be any way to start a new single player game in Avengers, so everybody’s looking for some kind of workaround, at least. Well, there is a way to start the campaign over, but you’re not gonna like it. So, without further ado, let’s see how to restart the campaign in Marvel’s Avengers.

how to restart campaign in marvels avengers
How to Restart Campaign in Marvel’s Avengers

How to Start a New Game in Marvel’s Avengers

To start a new game in Marvel’s Avengers, aka restart the campaign, you have to delete your save file and start over from the start. On PC, you’ll have to go into the game’s folder and delete the save file manually; at least, that’s what players on Steam are reporting. At the time of writing, this is the only way to restart the campaign and collect whatever you might have missed in your first go-around. Along with everything else, because you’ve just deleted your save file. It’s… not exactly ideal, but it’s the only method right now.

Article Continues Below

I honestly don’t know why they made the game this way. Hopefully, when the game launches fully on September 4th, there will be some sort of patch that lets you replay the main campaign missions like a normal person. Until then, you’ll have to suffer the indignity of binning your save file and starting from scratch. This is going to be a point of contention among the fan base, to be sure, and it’ll only get worse when everyone gets access to the game.

Marvel’s Avengers Save File Location

You can find your Marvel’s Avengers save file in the following location: DRIVE:\Users\YOURNAME\Documents\Marvel’s Avengers. That’s, of course, assuming that you’ve used the standard settings when installing. If not, well, then it’s safe to assume that you already know where the files are, since you put them there. Either way, once you open the correct folder, delete your saved game, and start the campaign over.

And, well, there you have it, that’s how you restart the Marvel’s Avengers campaign. If you need further assistance with the game, check out some of our other guides. For example, we can show you how to unlock the HARM room, how to work around the bugged Abomination boss battle, and how to unlock Thor, Iron Man, and Captain America.

TAGS ,
Author JoeTheBard profile picture
A language teacher and video game enthusiast turned rogue, Joe is on a quest to become the ultimate gaming journalist. This is somewhat hampered by his belief that the golden age of gaming ended with the PlayStation One, but he doesn't let that stop him. His favorite games include Soul Reaver and Undertale. Other interests are D'n'D, dad rock, complaining about movies, and being the self-appointed office funny man, which nobody else agrees with.

Featured Videos

YOU MAY ALSO READ

4 COMMENTS

  1. N
    Nick

    Just a heads up, I tried to do this as described on multiple sites. And it kept failing despite deleting the files. I found out that despite deleting the local files if you are connected to the internet, it will still reload your save file. If you disconnect from the internet and delete the files, it will work

  2. J
    jj

    Cant find a reset campaign anywhere for Xbox!

    1. C
      CP

      How do I delete saves I don’t want?

      You can manage your data for individual games through My games & apps on your Home screen. Here’s how:

      Press the Xbox button on your controller to open the guide, and then select My games & apps.
      Highlight the game, press the Menu button on your controller, and then select Manage game & add-ons.
      In the menu on the left side of the screen, scroll down to Saved Data, then highlight the saved data for your gamertag on the right and press the A button on your controller.
      You’ll be prompted to confirm deletion of this game save data:
      Delete from console removes the local copy of this save. You can get it from the cloud the next time you play.
      Delete everywhere removes your saved data from this console, the cloud, and all other consoles you play on.
      Cancel leaves your data intact.

  3. A
    Annie

    When you delete this way does it delete the items you have already purchased?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *