Destiny 2 Countdown Details - New Crucible Mode

As any sequel should, Destiny 2 will be adding some new things to the Crucible and how it works. For one, players will be getting a brand new Crucible mode, called Countdown. It’ll be a 4v4 attack-and-defend game, where teams will switch roles and sides after each round. The winner is the first team that achieves a set number of victories.

▼Article Continues Below ▼
Destiny 2 Countdown Details - New Crucible Mode
Destiny 2 Countdown Details – New Crucible Mode

The Destiny 2 Gameplay Reveal Twitch live stream has ended, but the hype is only just beginning. Fans have been poring over every single detail very diligently. One of the many things that have been announced are the changes to the Crucible. It’s going to go through a lot of changes that should enhance the overall multiplayer experience. Of course, Bungie will add some brand new modes, one of which is Countdown.

What is Countdown Mode in the Destiny 2 Crucible?

Countdown will be a 4v4 mode. One team is on the defense, the others attack. The team on the offense needs to pant a bomb and make sure it explodes by protecting it from the other team. The ones on the defense, as you’d expect, have to stop the bomb (or better yet, prevent it being planted in the first place) until the round is over. Once a round ends, the teams swap roles, and the game starts anew. Teams get one point for every round they win, and the first to six points wins the match.

You have the option to revive your teammates, but only if you use a Revive Token. Also important: only the player that acquires the power weapon can get power weapon ammo. The mode sounds simple, sure, but it seems like it’s going to be a lot of fun.

The console version of Destiny 2 will come out on September 8th, 2017. It will launch on PC at a later date, and only via Blizzard’s Fortunately, those that play World of Warcraft and use the Auction House will be able to buy Destiny 2 with WoW Tokens.

If you need further help with Destiny 2 Shadowkeep, check out our guides on Dead Ghost Locations, Jade Rabbit Locations, and Eyes on the Moon - How to Start Vex Invasion. If it's Exotic Weapons that you're after, we've got you covered with our Pain And Gain Exotic Quest and Deathbringer Exotic Rocket Launcher - Symphony of Death guides. Going back in time for new players, we can offer you guides like Ikelos Weapons - How to Get SMG, Sniper Rifle, Shotgun, or, if you're playing Forsaken content, guides like Corsair Down & Badge - Dead Body Locations.

Author JoeTheBard profile picture
A language teacher and video game enthusiast turned rogue, Joe is on a quest to become the ultimate gaming journalist. This is somewhat hampered by his belief that the golden age of gaming ended with the PlayStation One, but he doesn't let that stop him. His favorite games include Soul Reaver and Undertale. Other interests are D'n'D, dad rock, complaining about movies, and being the self-appointed office funny man, which nobody else agrees with.